DC Fast Chargers in India: Types, Power & Prices

A DC fast charger supplies direct current to an EV’s battery, bypassing its onboard AC charger; businesses should select it around vehicle compatibility, charging windows and available site power. This guide compares options from 3 kW light-EV charging to 240 kW equipment, explains connector choices and presents Tecell’s published list prices alongside practical procurement checks.

How DC charging differs from AC charging

With AC charging, the vehicle’s onboard charger converts alternating current into the direct current required by the battery. With DC charging, that conversion happens in the charging equipment outside the vehicle. The vehicle and charger communicate to control the energy delivered within the battery’s operating limits.

This makes a DC EV charger useful where vehicles need energy during shorter stops. However, DC does not automatically mean the highest power or the shortest charging session. A light electric vehicle and an electric car have different battery systems, connectors and charging limits.

The advertised charger rating is not a guaranteed charging rate throughout a session. Battery temperature, state of charge, vehicle acceptance limits and shared site capacity can all affect delivery. Compare equipment against the vehicles you will actually serve, rather than choosing solely by the largest power figure.

AC can remain appropriate for workplace parking or overnight depot charging. A mixed installation may use AC for longer stays and DC for vehicles that need a quicker return to service. Start with the operating schedule, then select the charging technology.

Which DC power level suits your business?

3 kW to 12 kW: light-EV charging

Low-voltage DC charging serves compatible two-wheelers and other light EVs. Tecell’s listed options include a 3 kW Type 6 wall box, a 12 kW Type 6 wall box and the BOLT – Blaze 3 kW product offered with Type 6 or Type 7.

These are relevant to delivery hubs, shared parking and light-EV charging locations. Confirm the vehicle’s supported connector, charging protocol and electrical limits before ordering. A physically suitable parking bay does not establish electrical compatibility, and a higher-rated charger cannot force a vehicle to accept more power.

15 kW and 30 kW: focused fleet and commercial applications

Tecell’s product list includes GB/T equipment at 15 kW and 30 kW, alongside CCS2 options such as Gale 30 kW and the Fast Charging Station 30 kW (Premium). This segment is worth evaluating where charging stops are planned and site capacity needs careful management.

For a fleet, check whether vehicles can receive enough energy during their available depot windows. For a public location, consider likely arrival patterns, dwell time and queues. Connector choice remains essential: a GB/T charger is not interchangeable with a CCS2 charger simply because both have similar power ratings.

60 kW to 240 kW: evaluate throughput and infrastructure together

The supplied range includes a 60 kW CCS2 + CHAdeMO product, a Fast Charger 60/120/240 kW listing and a dedicated Tecell 240KW DC Charger listing. Higher-power equipment may suit public charging, highway locations and demanding fleet operations when vehicles and site infrastructure support it.

Assess concurrent demand, not just the headline rating. Ask whether the quoted power applies to the complete charger or an individual outlet, how power is divided during simultaneous sessions and what delivery is possible across the supported voltage range. These details need confirmation for the selected configuration.

Connector standards: match the charger to the vehicle

CCS2 for compatible cars and commercial vehicles

CCS2 is relevant to Indian car-charging networks and appears on several listed Tecell DC products. It combines an AC-compatible connector arrangement with additional DC contacts. Nevertheless, the inlet alone does not tell you the vehicle’s maximum charging capability.

Collect vehicle model details and charging specifications during procurement. Tecell’s guide to EV charger types and connector standards provides a useful starting point, but final selection should follow vehicle documentation and charger specifications.

CHAdeMO and GB/T for identified demand

CHAdeMO and GB/T are distinct connector and communication systems. Include them when your target vehicles require them, rather than assuming every public location needs every connector. Tecell lists dedicated GB/T products and a CCS2 + CHAdeMO charger.

For mixed fleets, map charging compatibility before comparing prices. Where a product advertises several connector options, clarify which guns are included in the quotation and whether simultaneous charging is supported. An available connector option is not necessarily part of every supplied configuration.

Type 6 and Type 7 for light EVs

Type 6 is a DC connector standard used for compatible light EVs. Type 7 supports a hybrid AC/DC approach, although the modes available depend on the actual equipment and vehicle implementation. These standards should not be treated as substitutes for CCS2 car charging.

Review Tecell’s Type 6 and Type 7 charging guide when planning a two-wheeler network. For the BOLT – Blaze listing, confirm the chosen Type 6 or Type 7 configuration in writing; do not assume the single-gun unit supplies both connectors.

Tecell DC fast charger comparison and list prices

The table reproduces the supplied product list prices. It is not an installed-project quotation. Contact sales for installed pricing, configuration details and confirmation of the equipment included.

Product Power and type as listed List price
Tecell 3KW DC wall box – Type 6 3 kW DC; Type 6 ₹79,999
BOLT – Blaze DC 3 kW Single Gun 2-Wheeler Fast Charger(Type6 or Type7) 3 kW DC; single gun; Type 6 or Type 7 ₹91,999
Tecell 12kw Dc Wall Box – Type 6 12 kW DC; Type 6 ₹1,99,000
Tecell 15KW GB/T Single Gun Charger 15 kW; GB/T; single gun Price on request
Gale 30 kW 30 kW DC; CCS2; wall/pole mounting ₹4,00,000
Tecell 30KW GB/T Dual Gun Charger 30 kW; GB/T; dual gun ₹5,96,999
Tecell Fast Charging Station 30 kW (Premium) 30 kW DC; CCS2; wall/pole mounting ₹7,50,000
DC Charger (Gb/t) 15/30 kW rated power; GB/T; floor mounting ₹8,00,000
DC Charger (CCS2 + CHAdeMO) 60 kW DC; CCS2 + CHAdeMO; floor mounting ₹20,00,000
Fast Charger 60/120/240 kW 60/120/240 kW rated power; CCS2 / GB-T / CHAdeMO ₹7,99,999
Tecell 240KW DC Charger 240 kW DC; short description states “CC2” ₹25,99,000
Tecell Mobile EV DC fast charger Mobile DC; GB/T and CCS standards; power not stated ₹15,00,000

How to interpret the published prices

A search for a 30 kW DC fast charger price produces different answers because connector, configuration and product specification matter. Gale 30 kW has a list price of ₹4,00,000, the 30KW GB/T Dual Gun Charger is ₹5,96,999, and the 30 kW Premium station is ₹7,50,000. Compare the exact equipment scope.

The Fast Charger 60/120/240 kW listing contains inconsistent wording: its short description starts with “DC 30 kW Fast Charger” but gives rated power as 60/120/240 kW. Its ₹7,99,999 list price should not be assumed to cover every variant. Request a configuration-specific quotation.

For a 240 kW EV charger price, the dedicated Tecell listing gives ₹25,99,000. Its connector wording is “CC2”, so confirm the intended connector before procurement. No dedicated 150 kW product or price appears in the supplied list; contact sales rather than extrapolating a 150 kW EV charger price.

Site power, load management and voltage stabilisation

Check electrical capacity before selecting hardware

Have a qualified electrical professional assess the incoming supply, sanctioned load, existing building demand and available capacity. Charger output power is not the same as total site input demand: the assessment must consider conversion losses, auxiliary equipment and concurrent charging.

Review distribution equipment, cable routes, earthing, protective devices and any supply upgrade required. Check applicable DISCOM and local approval requirements for the site. A product price cannot establish the cost or feasibility of the electrical connection.

Choose static or dynamic load management deliberately

Static load management applies predetermined limits. Dynamic load balancing adjusts allocation using changing conditions, such as building demand and vehicle charging requirements. Either approach needs an engineered site limit and compatible controls.

Dynamic control may help distribute available capacity across active chargers, but it does not create additional grid capacity. Decide which vehicles take priority and how charging commitments will be met when demand exceeds available power. Tecell’s dynamic versus static load management guide explains the distinction.

Specify protection for the actual DC installation

Voltage stabilisation and surge protection address different electrical conditions. Evaluate supply quality, the charger’s permitted input range and the protection already incorporated into the selected equipment. Any external stabiliser must suit the installation and manufacturer’s requirements.

Tecell’s voltage stabiliser guidance focuses on AC chargers. Do not transfer its consumer-scale recommendations directly to a high-power DC site; obtain an engineering assessment of the appropriate protection arrangement.

OCPP, CMS connectivity and operational readiness

OCPP, the Open Charge Point Protocol, supports communication between charging equipment and a charging management system. It is separate from the connector and the vehicle-to-charger communication process. A CCS2 connector alone does not establish OCPP compatibility.

Ask vendors to demonstrate the required functions with the proposed hardware and software: authorisation, session records, remote monitoring, fault reporting and power-control behaviour. Confirm connectivity options, software charges, data access and what happens if the network connection fails.

UnityCharge (Tecell CMS), at cms.tecell.in, is Tecell’s charge management software. ChargeSphere is Tecell’s EV roaming hub for cross-network charging. Treat charging management and roaming as separate procurement requirements, and confirm the integrations needed for your operating model.

When a portable or mobile DC charger makes sense

A portable DC fast charger enquiry should distinguish movable equipment from a battery-powered mobile charging service. Equipment that can be moved may still require a suitable electrical supply wherever it operates.

The Tecell Mobile EV DC fast charger listing describes wheel-mounted, truck-mountable, battery-powered equipment supporting GB/T and CCS standards. Its list price is ₹15,00,000, but the supplied description does not specify output power, battery capacity or energy available per deployment.

Before selecting it for roadside assistance or temporary charging, confirm those specifications, connector implementation, replenishment arrangements and transport requirements. Model the service around usable energy and deployment logistics, not mobility alone.

DC charger buying and decision checklist

  1. Define demand: Record vehicle models, arrival patterns, energy requirements and available charging windows.
  2. Verify compatibility: Confirm connectors, communication requirements and vehicle charging limits using technical documentation.
  3. Establish site capacity: Obtain an electrical assessment covering building demand, charging loads and potential upgrades.
  4. Specify the configuration: Record output power, outlet count, simultaneous operation and power-sharing rules in the quotation.
  5. Agree software requirements: Validate OCPP/CMS integration, access control, billing needs, connectivity and offline behaviour.
  6. Plan the installation: Include foundations or mounting, cable routes, protection, vehicle access, drainage and safe cable handling.
  7. Compare complete commercial scope: Request installed pricing and identify equipment, software, commissioning, support and recurring charges separately.
  8. Define acceptance and support: Agree commissioning tests, documentation, warranty terms, fault escalation and maintenance responsibilities.

Use the same requirement sheet for competing quotations. This prevents a lower equipment price from obscuring differences in connectors, installation scope or operating features. Include future expansion in the site layout, even if later chargers are not part of the initial purchase.

How Tecell can help

Tecell’s charger range covers AC and DC equipment, and its published offering brings together hardware, software, setup and support through OEM partnerships. Use the range to shortlist products, then validate the specification against your vehicles and site.

For deployment planning, review Tecell’s EV charging installation services. Share the site location, vehicle mix, operating schedule and available electrical information so the discussion can address infrastructure as well as equipment.

Contact Tecell sales for installed pricing and a configuration-specific proposal. Ask for a clear hardware scope, the relevant UnityCharge requirements and, where needed, a separate discussion of ChargeSphere roaming integration.

Frequently asked questions

What is a DC fast charger for an EV?

A DC fast charger converts the incoming electricity outside the vehicle and supplies direct current to its battery, bypassing the onboard AC charger. Actual charging power depends on compatibility, vehicle limits, battery conditions and available site capacity.

What is the 30 kW DC fast charger price in India?

Tecell’s supplied list prices include Gale 30 kW at ₹4,00,000, the 30KW GB/T Dual Gun Charger at ₹5,96,999 and the 30 kW Premium station at ₹7,50,000. These are different products and configurations. Contact sales for installed pricing.

What are Tecell’s 240 kW and 150 kW EV charger prices?

The dedicated Tecell 240KW DC Charger has a list price of ₹25,99,000. No dedicated 150 kW product price is provided in the supplied list. Request a specification-specific quotation and confirm the connector and installation scope.

Which connector should an Indian business choose?

Choose the connector supported by the target vehicles: CCS2, CHAdeMO, GB/T, Type 6 or Type 7 as applicable. Confirm the charging protocol and electrical limits as well as the physical connector. Mixed fleets may require different charging configurations.

Does Tecell offer a portable DC fast charger?

Tecell lists a Mobile EV DC fast charger at a list price of ₹15,00,000. It is described as wheel-mounted, truck-mountable and battery-powered, supporting GB/T and CCS standards. Confirm output power, usable battery energy and replenishment requirements before purchase.

Do DC fast chargers need a voltage stabiliser?

That depends on site supply quality, the charger’s permitted input range and its built-in protection. A qualified electrical professional should assess whether external stabilisation or additional surge protection is required. Do not size high-power DC protection using consumer AC-charger guidance.

Scroll to Top